Our Work

Great Western Woodlands

Globally, 41 percent of Mediterranean ecosystems have been lost to agricultural pressure, urbanization and logging and only 5 percent have been permanently protected. This has been the outcome of intensive human settlement in the Americas, Europe, Africa and Asia. Almost all of their original vegetation has been replaced with agriculture and urban sprawl, has been heavily logged for timber and firewood and/or has been heavily grazed by animals. In Australia, the general pattern is similar, with the majority of Mediterranean woodlands and shrublands cleared to form the wheat belts that dominate southwestern and eastern Australia.

Australia stands out, however, in having a huge area of intact Mediterranean woodlands and shrublands in excellent condition. The Great Western Woodlands (GWW) in the southwest part of the country contains more than 35 million acres of native vegetation in good to excellent condition. Equivalent to Africa+'s Serengeti or South America's Amazon, the Great Western Woodlands is an internationally significant area of great biological richness.

Southwest Marine

The Save our Marine Life Collaboration of global, national and state-based environment organisations is built around a common vision to conserve Australia's unique marine life through working with local communities, governments, industry stakeholders and Traditional Owners to secure a network of large no-take reserves in Australia's marine environment. The coalition includes the Pew Environment Group, The Conservation Council of Western Australia, the Australian Conservation Foundation, The Wilderness Society, WWF-Australia, The Australian Marine Conservation Society ,and The Nature Conservancy.

West Arnhem Land

Located in the top eastern half of Australia's Northern Territory, Arnhem Land is a vast region with remarkable natural and cultural value. The area is known for its dozens of locally endemic plants and unique animals found nowhere else on Earth, thousands of rock art sites dating back 50,000 years, and spectacular scenery.

Wild Australia's Western Arnhem Land work aims to help conserve this Indigenous treasure by ensuring that traditional landowners can continue to protect and manage the land. The campaign has been working with the Djelk Rangers and Warddeken Land Management to support sound land management practices and the declaration of two Indigenous Protected Areas (IPAs). These reserves, which were made official in September 2009, are located in Western and Central Arnhem Land about 500 kilometers (300 miles) from Darwin, and span 20,432 square kilometres (7,889 square miles), larger than the adjacent Kakadu National Park, and more than twice the size of Yellowstone National Park in the United States. The area includes sandstone gorges, pristine rivers, tropical savannah, and coastal wetlands. Wild Australia will continue to work with the Djelk and Warddeken to support the management of the new reserves.


The Kimberley

As one of the last great wilderness areas of the world, the Kimberley region has outstanding biodiversity and cultural values. The region's beautiful landscape is characterised by extensive areas of sandstone gorges, riparian rainforest and savanna while the coast has highly complex shoreline ecosystems and large areas of mangrove and intertidal flats. There are many species unique to the region, including several unique birds, mammals and reptiles and the coastal waters are a major breeding area for Humpback whales. The region's environmental beauty is matched by the Indigenous heritage and cultural values of the region - the consequence of 50,000 years of connection to the land.

Despite the region's global significance, the Kimberley is facing serious threats; including feral animals, invasive weeds and wild fires. There is also no over-arching conservation plan or adequate protective tenures and arrangements in place to tackle these threats. The Wild Australia program is aimed at meeting these challenges , and securing significant new conservation outcomes for the Kimberley, including support for a large increase in Indigenous Protected Areas along the Kimberley coast.


Channel Country

The Lake Eyre Basin is an expansive wilderness covering one sixth of Australia. Stretching over Queensland, the Northern Territory, New South Wales and South Australia, the basin represents one of the largest internal drainage systems in the world. The basin has been recognised as being of World Heritage value through the uniqueness of its hydrological systems.

Three river catchments in Queensland run into Lake Eyre; the Georgina, Diamantina and Cooper Creek. Their combined area of 563,217 square kilometres (140 million acres) represents a large proportion of Lake Eyre Basin's area of 1,200,000 square kilometres. They supply the great majority of water flows in the entire Basin. This "Channel Country" of the three river catchments, has flows that are sporadic but often massive, coming from flooding rains in the upper catchments, which lie in the monsoonal tropics, with the rivers funneling the floodwater into Australia's arid heartland.


The Simpon-Strzelecki Desert focus area covers 299,000 km2, and straddles four states: predominantly in the Northern Territory and South Australia, and also in Queensland and New South Wales. It is part of the Lake Eyre Basin. The focus area is equivalent to the IBRA bioregion of the same name (SSD), but encompasses only part of the Simpson Desert ecoregion delineated by WWF and described by Wilson (2001), due to the exclusion of the Channel Country bioregion (for explanation see Section of Focus Areas section).